Chair Wm. Weston J. Newton

First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Micajah P. (Micah) Caskey, IV Neal A. Collins Patricia Moore (Pat) Henegan William M. (Bill) Hixon Jeffrey E. (Jeff) Johnson Marvin R. Pendarvis Tommy M. Stringer Bill Taylor Robert Q. Williams

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

Gary E. Clary
Chandra E. Dillard
Lee Hewitt
Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr.
Mandy Powers Norrell
Robert L. Ridgeway, III
Edward R. Tallon, Sr.
John Taliaferro (Jay) West, IV
Chris Wooten

Charles L. Appleby, IV Legal Counsel

Carmen J. McCutcheon Simon Research Analyst/Auditor

Kendra H. Wilkerson Fiscal/Research Analyst

Education and Cultural Subcommittee

Thursday, January 31, 2019 Room 321 Blatt Building

Archived Video Available

I. Pursuant to House Legislative Oversight Committee Rule 6.8, South Carolina ETV was allowed access for streaming the meeting. You may access an archived video of this meeting by visiting the South Carolina General Assembly's website (http://www.scstatehouse.gov) and clicking on *Committee Postings and Reports*, then under *House Standing Committees* click on *Legislative Oversight*. Then, click on *Video Archives* for a listing of archived videos for the Committee.

Attendance

I. The Education and Cultural Subcommittee meeting was called to order by Chairman Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr., Thursday, January 31, 2019, in Room 321 of the Blatt Building. All members, but Representative Henegan, were present for some or all of the meeting.

Minutes

I. House Rule 4.5 requires standing committees to prepare and make available to the public the minutes of committee meetings, but the minutes do not have to be verbatim accounts of meetings. It is the practice of the Legislative Oversight Committee to provide minutes for its subcommittee meetings.

II. Representative Tommy Stringer moves to approve the minutes from the Subcommittee's meeting on October 23, 2018. A roll call vote is held, and the motion passes.

Representative Stringer's motion to approve the minutes from the October 23, 2018, meeting:	Yea	Nay	Not Voting: Present	Not Voting: Absent
Neal A Collins			✓	
Patricia Moore Henegan				✓
Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr.	✓			
Tommy Stringer	✓			

Discussion of Wil Lou Gray Opportunity School

- I. Chairman Jefferson provides opening comments and states that this is the subcommittee's first meeting with Wil Lou Gray. Further, he explains the purpose of the meeting is to receive an overview of the agency's history, mission, and organizational structure.
- II. Chairman Jefferson swore in the following Wil Lou Gray Opportunity School staff:
 - Pat Smith, Director
 - Shannan Woovis, Executive Assistant
 - Melissa Thurstin, Director of Finance and Human Resources
 - Theresa Trowell, Human Resources Manager
 - Stephanie Morton, Finance Department
 - Scott Gaines, Principal
 - Diane McNinch, Counseling Department
 - Brenda Arant, Health Director
 - Lettice Glenn, Social Work Director
 - Scott Poovey, Information Technology Director
 - Charlie Abbott, Director of Operations
 - Sarah Russell, Admissions Director
 - Capt. Michael Hamlin, JROTC Senior Instructor
- III. Director Smith and Ms. Thurstin provide testimony about Wil Lou Gray's history, mission, strategic goals, human resources, and financial resources.
- IV. Agency staff respond to Subcommittee member questions about:
 - Wil Lou Gray Board participation

- Student capacity
- Admissions process
- Marketing
- Wil Lou Gray fundraising and foundation
- Methods for following graduate progress
- Partnership with Lexington School District 2
- Board training

Adjournment

I. There being no further business, the meeting is adjourned.